Who Won 69th Annual Academy Awards?

Cuba Gooding Jr wins Best Supporting Actor
Mar 24, 1997

The 69th Annual Academy Awards were presented on March 24, 1997 in the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles.

Billy Crystal hosted while "The English Patient" dominated the Oscars, winning nine awards including Best Picture, Best Director, and Supporting Actress.

The acting awards were won by Geoffrey Rush ("Shine"), Frances McDormand ("Fargo"), Cuba Gooding Jr ("Jerry Maguire"), and Juliette Binoche ("The English Patient").

69th Academy Awards Winners

Best Picture The English Patient
Saul Zaentz, Producer
The English Patient
Best Actor Geoffrey Rush (Shine)
Best Actress Frances McDormand (Fargo)
Best Supporting Actor Cuba Gooding, Jr. (Jerry Maguire)
Jerry Maguire
Best Supporting Actress Juliette Binoche (The English Patient)
The English Patient
Best Director Anthony Minghella (The English Patient)
The English Patient
Adapted Screenplay Sling Blade
Billy Bob Thornton
Sling Blade
Original Screenplay Fargo
Ethan Coen; Joel Coen
Foreign Language Film Kolya
Czech Republic
Documentary Feature When We Were Kings
Leon Gast, David Sonenberg
When We Were Kings
Documentary Short Breathing Lessons: The Life And Work Of Mark O'Brien
Jessica Yu
Breathing Lessons: The Life And Work Of Mark O'Brien
Short Film (Live Action) Dear Diary
David Frankel, Barry Jossen
Dear Diary
Short Film (Animated) Quest
Tyron Montgomery, Thomas Stellmach
Film Editing The English Patient
Walter Murch
The English Patient
Cinematography The English Patient
John Seale
The English Patient
Costume Design The English Patient
Ann Roth
The English Patient
Makeup The Nutty Professor
Rick Baker, David LeRoy Anderson
The Nutty Professor
Art Direction The English Patient
Art Direction: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Stephenie McMillan
The English Patient
Sound Effects Editing The Ghost And The Darkness
Bruce Stambler
The Ghost And The Darkness
Sound The English Patient
Walter Murch, Mark Berger, David Parker, Chris Newman
The English Patient
Visual Effects Independence Day
Volker Engel, Douglas Smith, Clay Pinney, Joseph Viskocil
Independence Day
Original Musical or Comedy Score Emma
Rachel Portman, composer
Original Dramatic Score The English Patient
Gabriel Yared, composer
The English Patient
Original Song "You Must Love Me" (Evita)
Music by Andrew Lloyd Webber; Lyric by Tim Rice