Who Won the 1988 NBA Championship?

Los Angeles Lakers

Dennis Rodman and James Worthy
Jun 21, 1988
The Forum - Inglewood, CA
Runner Up: 
Detroit Pistons

The Pat Riley-led Los Angeles Lakers repeated as NBA champions with a 4 games to 3 finals victory over the Detroit Pistons. The Lakers were pushed to seven-game series in the Western Conference semis and finals as well.

James Worthy had a triple-double in game seven with 36 points, 16 rebounds and 10 assists, the only triple-double of his career. He was named the Finals MVP.

Detroit's Isiah Thomas had a monster game six with 43 points including a record 25 in the third quarter.

Los Angeles Lakers 4
Detroit Piston 3

GameDateScoreSiteHigh Scorer
GAME 1Jun 7Detroit 105, Los Angeles 93The Forum, InglewoodAdrian Dantley (34)
GAME 2Jun 9Los Angeles 108, Detroit 96The Forum, InglewoodJames Worthy (26)
GAME 3Jun 12Los Angeles 99, Detroit 86Pontiac Silverdome, PontiacIsiah Thomas (28)
GAME 4Jun 14Detroit 111, Los Angeles 86Pontiac Silverdome, PontiacAdrian Dantley (27)
GAME 5Jun 16Dertoit 104, Los Angeles 94Pontiac Silverdome, PontiacKareem Abdul-Jabbar (26)
GAME 6Jun 19Los Angeles 103, Detroit 102The Forum, InglewoodIsiah Thomas (43)
GAME 7Jun 21Los Angeles 108, Detroit 105The Forum, InglewoodJames Worthy (36)

1988 NBA Playoffs

1 Boston Celtics3   
8 New York Knicks11 Boston Celtics4  
  1 Boston Celtics2 
4 Atlanta Hawks34 Atlanta Hawks3  
5 Milwaukee Bucks2   
   2 Detroit Pistons3
2 Detroit Pistons3   
7 Washington Bullets22 Detroit Pistons4  
  2 Detroit Pistons4 
3 Chicago Bulls33 Chicago Bulls1  
6 Cleveland Cavaliers2   
1987-88 NBA Champions
1 Los Angeles Lakers3   
8 San Antonio Spurs01 Los Angeles Lakers4  
  1 Los Angeles Lakers4 
4 Portland Trail Blazers15 Utah Jazz3  
5 Utah Jazz3   
   1 Los Angeles Lakers4
2 Denver Nuggets3   
7 Seattle SuperSonics22 Denver Nuggets2  
  3 Dallas Mavericks3 
3 Dallas Mavericks33 Dallas Mavericks4  
6 Houston Rockets1