Who Won the 1990 NBA Championship?

Detroit Pistons

Pistons win the 1990 NBA Finals
Jun 14, 1990
Memorial Coliseum - Portland, OR
Runner Up: 
Portland Trail Blazers

The Detroit Pistons repeated as NBA champions in 1990 when they defeated the Portland Trail Blazers 4 games to 1 in the NBA Finals.

The "Bad Boys" Pistons were led by series MVP Isiah Thomas and coached by Chuck Daly. Thomas averaged 27.6 points, 8 assists and 5.2 rebounds in the series. Their starting lineup also included Joe Dumars, Dennis Rodman, James Edwards and Bill Laimbeer.

This was the first NBA Finals since 1979 to not include either the Lakers or the Celtics.

Detroit Pistons 4
Portland Trail Blazers 1

GameDateScoreSiteHigh Scorer
GAME 1Jun 5Detroit 105, Portland 99Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn HillsIsiah Thomas (33)
GAME 2Jun 7Portland 106, Detroit 105 (OT)Palace of Auburn Hills, Auburn HillsClyde Drexler (33)
GAME 3Jun 10Detroit 121, Portland 106Memorial Coliseum, PortlandJoe Dumars (33)
GAME 4Jun 12Detroit 112, Portland 109Memorial Coliseum, PortlandClyde Drexler (34)
GAME 5Jun 14Detroit 92, Portland 90Memorial Coliseum, PortlandIsiah Thomas (29)

1990 NBA Playoffs

1 Detroit Pistons3   
8 Indiana Pacers01 Detroit Pistons4  
  1 Detroit Pistons4 
4 Boston Celtics25 New York Knicks1  
5 New York Knicks3   
   1 Detroit Pistons4
2 Philadelphia 76ers3   
7 Cleveland Cavaliers22 Philadelphia 76ers1  
  3 Chicago Bulls3 
3 Chicago Bulls33 Chicago Bulls4  
6 Milwaukee Bucks1   
1989-90 NBA Champions
1 Los Angeles Lakers3   
8 Houston Rockets11 Los Angeles Lakers1  
  5 Phoenix Suns2 
4 Utah Jazz25 Phoenix Suns4  
5 Phoenix Suns3   
   3 Portland Trail Blazers1
2 San Antonio Spurs3   
7 Denver Nuggets02 San Antonio Spurs3  
  3 Portland Trail Blazers4 
3 Portland Trail Blazers33 Portland Trail Blazers4  
6 Dallas Mavericks0