Who Won 23rd Annual Critics Choice Awards?

Gary Oldman
Jan 11, 2018

"The Shape Of Water" received the most nominations with 14 and ultimately won Best Picture at the 23rd Critics Choice Awards. It won a total of four awards.

"Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri" won three times for Best Actress (Frances McDormand), Best Supporting Actor (Sam Rockwell) and Acting Ensemble.

The ceremony was hosted by Olivia Munn.

2017 Critics Choice Award Winners

Critics Choice: Best Picture
The Shape Of Water 
Other Nominees: The Big Sick; Call Me By Your Name; Darkest Hour; Dunkirk; The Florida Project; Get Out; Lady Bird; The Post; Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missour
Critics Choice: Best Actor
Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour) 
Other Nominees: Timothee Chalamet (Call Me By Your Name); Daniel Day-Lewis (Phantom Thread); James Franco (The Disaster Artist); Jake Gyllenhaal (Stronger); Tom Hanks (The Post); Daniel Kaluuya (Get Out)
Critics Choice: Best Actress
Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) 
Other Nominees: Jessica Chastain (Molly's Game); Sally Hawkins (The Shape Of Water); Margot Robbie (I, Tonya); Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird); Meryl Streep (The Post)
Critics Choice: Best Supporting Actress
Allison Janney (I, Tonya) 
Other Nominees: Mary J Blige (Mudbound); Hong Chau (Downsizing); Tiffany Haddish (Girls Trip); Holly Hunter (The Big Sick); Laurie Metcalf (Lady Bird); Octavia Spencer (The Shape Of Water)
Critics Choice: Best Supporting Actor
Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri) 
Other Nominees: Willem Dafoe (The Florida Project); Armie Hammer (Call Me By Your Name); Richard Jenkins (The Shape Of Water); Patrick Stewart (Logan); Michael Stuhlbarg (Call Me By Your Name)
Critics Choice: Best Director
Guillermo del Toro (The Shape Of Water) 
Other Nominees: Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird); Luca Guadagnino (Call Me By Your Name); Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri); Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk); Jordan Peele (Get Out); Steve Spielberg (The Post)
Critics Choice: Acting Ensemble
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri 
Other Nominees: Dunkirk; Lady Bird; Mudbound; The Post
Critics Choice: Original Screenplay
Jordan Peele (Get Out) 
Other Nominees: Guillermo del Toro and Vanessa Taylor (The Shape of Water); Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird); Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick); Liz Hannah and Josh Singer (The Post); Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Critics Choice: Adapted Screenplay
James Ivory (Call My By Your Name) 
Other Nominees: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber (The Disaster Artist); Dee Rees and Virgil Williams (Mudbound); Aaron Sorkin (Molly's Game); Jack Thorne, Steve Conrad, and Stephen Chbosky (Wonder)
Critics Choice: Animated Feature
Other Nominees: The Breadwinner; Despicable Me 3; The Lego Batman Movie; Loving Vincent
Critics Choice: Young Actor
Brooklynn Prince (The Florida Project) 
Other Nominees: Mckenna Grace (Gifted); Dafne Keen (Logan); Millicent Simmonds (Wonderstruck); Jacob Tremblay (Wonder)
Critics Choice: Comedy
The Big Sick 
Other Nominees: The Disaster Artist; Girls Trip; I, Tonya; Lady Bird
Critics Choice: Action Movie
Wonder Woman 
Other Nominees: Baby Driver; Logan; Thor: Ragnarok; War For The Planet Of The Apes
Critics Choice: Sci-Fi/Horror Movie
Get Out 
Other Nominees: Blade Runner 2049; It; The Shape Of Water
Critics Choice: Foreign Language Film
In The Fade (Germany) 
Other Nominees: BPM (France); A Fantastic Woman (Chile); First They Killed My Father (Cambodia); The Square (Sweden); Thelma (Norway)
Critics Choice: Score
Alexandre Desplat (The Shape Of Water) 
Other Nominees: Jonny Greenwood (Phantom Thread); Dario Marianelli (Darkest Hour); Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer (Blade Runner 2049); John Williams (The Post); Hans Zimmer (Dunkirk)
Critics Choice: Song
"Remember Me" (Coco) 
Other Nominees: "Evermore" (Beauty And The Beast); "Mystery Of Love" (Call Me By Your Name); "Stand Up For Something" (Marshall); "This Is Me" (The Greatest Showman)
Critics Choice: Actress In A Comedy
Margot Robbie (I, Tonya) 
Other Nominees: Tiffany Haddish (Girls Trip); Zoe Kazan (The Big Sick); Saoirse Ronan (Lady Bird); Emma Stone (Battle Of The Sexes)
Critics Choice: Actor In A Comedy
James Franco (The Disaster Artist) 
Other Nominees: Steve Carell (Battle Of The Sexes); Chris Hemsworth (Thor: Ragnarok); Kumail Nanjiani (The Big Sick); Adam Sandler (The Meyerowitz Stories) 
Critics Choice: Visual Effects
War For The Planet Of The Apes 
Other Nominees: Blade Runner 2049; Dunkirk; The Shape Of Water; Thor: Ragnarok; Wonder Woman
Critics Choice: Hair & Makeup
Darkest Hour 
Other Nominees: Beauty and the Beast; I, Tonya; The Shape Of Water; Wonder
Critics Choice: Editing
TIE: Baby Driver & Dunkirk 
Other Nominees: The Post; Blade Runner 2049; The Shape Of Water
Critics Choice: Costume Design
Phantom Thread 
Other Nominees: Blade Runner 2049; Beauty and the Beast; Wonder Woman; The Shape Of Water
Critics Choice: Cinematography
Blade Runner 2049 
Other Nominees: The Shape Of Water; Mudbound; Call Me By Your Name; Dunkirk
Critics Choice: Production Design
The Shape Of Water 
Other Nominees: Murder On The Orient Express; Dunkirk; Blade Runner 2049; Beauty and the Beast; Phantom Thread