Who Won Illinois Elections in 2008?

Senator Dick Durban
Nov 4, 2008

Illinois Senator Dick Durban (pictured) won re-election over Republican challenger Steve Sauerberg.

Incumbent Representatives ran in and won 17 of the 19 Illinois Congressional Districts. Democrat Debbie Halvorson won the seat in District 11 (a party shift) while the Republicans held District 18 when Aaron Schock won.

Illinois Senator Barack Obama's term was due to expire in 2010, but since he won the 2008 Presidential Election a replacement will need to be appointed to complete his term. Obama won the 21 Illinois electoral votes.

The next Illinois Gubernatorial Election is in 2010.

Senate Dick Durbin DEM Incumbent 67.8%
House Of Representatives
1st District Bobby Rush DEM Incumbent 85.9%
2nd District Jesse Jackson Jr DEM Incumbent 89.4%
3rd District Dan Lipinski DEM Incumbent 73.3%
4th District Luis V Gutierrez DEM Incumbent 80.6%
5th District Rahm Emanuel DEM Incumbent 73.9%
6th District Peter Roskam REP Incumbent 57.6%
7th District Danny K Davis DEM Incumbent 85.0%
8th District Melissa Bean DEM Incumbent 60.7%
9th District Jan Schakowsky DEM Incumbent 74.7%
10th District Mark Kirk REP Incumbent 52.6%
11th District Debbie Halvorson DEM 58.4%
12th District Jerry Costello DEM Incumbent 71.4%
13th District Judy Biggert REP Incumbent 53.6%
14th District Bill Foster DEM Incumbent 57.7%
15th District Tim V Johnson REP Incumbent 64.2%
16th District Don Manzullo REP Incumbent 60.9%
17th District Phil Hare DEM Incumbent Unopposed
18th District Aaron Schock REP 58.9%
19th District John Shimkus REP Incumbent 64.5%