Who Won Michigan Elections in 2008?

Mark Schauer
Nov 4, 2008

Michigan Senator Carl Levin easily won re-election in 2008 over Republican challenger Jack Hoogendyk.

Two Republican incumbents in the House of Representatives were defeated in Michigan. In the 7th District Mark Schauer (pictured) defeated incumbent Tim Walberg, and in the 9th District Gary Peters defeated incumbent Joseph Knollenberg.

Michigan Senator Debbie Stabenow is up for re-election in 2012, and the next Michigan Gubernatorial Election is in 2010.

Barack Obama won Michigan's 17 electoral votes. Michigan also voted to allow medical marijuana and stem cell research.

Senate Carl Levin DEM Incumbent 62.7%
House Of Representatives
1st District Bart Stupak DEM Incumbent 65.0%
2nd District Peter Hoekstra REP Incumbent 62.4%
3rd District Vernon Ehlers REP Incumbent 61.1%
4th District Dave Camp REP Incumbent 61.9%
5th District Dale Kildee DEM Incumbent 70.4%
6th District Fred Upton REP Incumbent 58.9%
7th District Mark Schauer DEM 48.8%
8th District Mike J Rogers REP Incumbent 56.5%
9th District Gary Peters DEM 52.1%
10th District Candice Miller REP Incumbent 66.3%
11th District Thad McCotter REP Incumbent 51.4%
12th District Sander Levin DEM Incumbent 72.1%
13th District Carolyn Kilpatrick DEM Incumbent 74.1%
14th District John Conyers DEM Incumbent 92.4%
15th District John Dingell DEM Incumbent 70.7%