Who Won Virginia Elections in 2008?

Mark Warner
Nov 4, 2008

Virginia Republican Senator John Warner retired in 2008. His seat was won by Democrat and former Virginia Governor Mark Warner (pictured). Senator Jim Webb's term expires in 2012.

The Democrats picked up two House seats from Virginia. In the 2nd District Glenn Nye defeated incumbent Thelma Drake. Republican Tom Davis retired from the 11th District and Democrat Gerry Connolly won the seat. As of this writing the 5th District race had yet to be decided.

The next Virginia Gubernatorial Election is in 2009.

Barack Obama won Virginia's 13 electoral votes.

Senate Mark Warner DEM 65.0%
House of Representatives
1st District Rob Wittman REP Incumbent 56.6%
2nd District Glenn Nye DEM 52.4%
3rd District Bobby Scott DEM Incumbent Unopposed
4th District Randy Forbes REP Incumbent 59.5%
5th District Tom Perriello DEM 50.1%
6th District Bob Goodlatte REP Incumbent 61.6%
7th District Eric Cantor REP Incumbent 62.7%
8th District Jim Moran DEM Incumbent 67.9%
9th District Rick Boucher DEM Incumbent Unopposed
10th District Frank Wolf REP Incumbent 58.8%
11th District Gerry Connolly DEM 54.7%