Who Won West Virginia Elections in 2010?

Joe Manchin
Nov 2, 2010

There was a special election to fill the remaining two years of former Senator Robert Byrd's term. Carte Goodwin had been appointed to the seat following Byrd's death, but agreed not to run in the special election. His appointor, Governor Joe Manchin, ran for the seat and won over Republican businessman John Raese.

Incumbents Shelley Moore Capito and Nick Rahall both won re-election. Republican David McKinley won a narrow victory for the open seat in the 1st District.

Senate Joe Manchin DEM 53.5%
House Of Representatives
1st District David McKinley REP 50.4%
2nd District Shelley Moore Capito REP Incumbent 68.5%
3rd District Nick Rahall DEM Incumbent 56.0%