Who Won Hawaii Elections in 2014?

David Ige
Nov 4, 2014

There was a special election to fill out the remainder of former U.S. Senator Daniel Inouye's term following his death in 2012. Brian Schatz, who had been appointed by Governor Neil Abercrombie, won the election over Republican Cam Cavasso.

Incumbent 1st District Representative Colleen Hanabusa resigned her seat to run for the U.S. Senate, but she suffered a close loss to Schatz in the primary. Her seat in the House was won by Democrat Mark Takai.

Incumbent Governor Neil Abercrombie ran for a second term, but lost in the primary to State Senator David Ige - who went on to win in the general election. Abercrombie became the first incumbent governor to lose renomination in Hawaii history.

Governor David Ige DEM 49.0%
Senate Brian Schatz DEM Incumbent 69.8%
House Of Representatives
1st District Mark Takai DEM 51.2%
2nd District Tulsi Gabbard DEM Incumbent 75.8%