Who Won the 2014 Sugar Bowl?

Ohio State Buckeyes

Devin Smith at the Sugar Bowl
Jan 1, 2015
Mercedes-Benz Superdome - New Orleans, LA
Runner Up: 
Alabama Crimson Tide

This Sugar Bowl was a national championship semifinal game between top seed Alabama and fourth seed Ohio State. It was the Buckeyes that were able to hold off Alabama for 42-35 win in the Allstate Sugar Bowl.

Ezekiel Elliott had 230 rushing yards on 20 carries and two touchdowns for Ohio State. Buckeye quarterback Cardale Jones was making his second career start and had to rally his team from an early 21-6 deficit.

Alabama quarterback threw three interceptions - one that was returned for a touchdown and one on the last play of the game on a hail mary attempt.

Ohio State 42
Alabama 35

OSUFGSean Nuernberger 22 yd, 11:32.
ALATDDerrick Henry 25 yd run (Adam Griffith kick), 9:25.
OSUFGSean Nuernberger 21 yd, 5:17.
ALATDAmari Cooper 15 yd pass from Blake Sims (Adam Griffith kick), 2:06.
ALATDT.J. Yeldon 2 yd run (Adam Griffith kick), 8:07.
OSUTDEzekiel Elliott 3 yd run (Sean Nuernberger kick), 2:55.
OSUTDMichael Thomas 13 yd pass from Evan Spencer (Sean Nuernberger kick), 0:12.
OSUTDDevin Smith 47 yd pass from Cardale Jones (Sean Nuernberger kick), 12:44.
OSUTDSteve Miller 41 yd interception return (Sean Nuernberger kick), 3:21.
ALATDBlake Sims 5 yd run (Adam Griffith kick), 1:01.
OSUTDEzekiel Elliott 85 yd run (Cardale Jones pass to Michael Thomas), 3:24.
ALATDAmari Cooper 6 yd pass from Blake Sims (Adam Griffith kick), 1:59.