Who Won the Oscar for Sound Editing?

Academy Award: Sound Editing

From "It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World" in 1964 to "Mad Max: Fury Road" in 2016, the Academy Awards have recognized great achievement in movie sound editing throughout the years.

Other notable films to have won the Oscar for Sound Editing include "Raiders Of The Lost Ark", "Back To The Future", "Titanic" and "The Incredibles".

2017 Arrival Sylvain Bellemare Arrival
2016 Mad Max: Fury Road Mark Mangini and David White Mad Max: Fury Road
2015 American Sniper Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman American Sniper
2014 Gravity Glenn Freemantle Gravity
2013 Skyfall & Zero Dark Thirty (TIE) Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers for Skyfall; Paul N.J. Ottosson for Zero Dark Thirty
2012 Hugo Philip Stockton and Eugene Gearty Hugo
2011 Inception Richard King Inception
2010 The Hurt Locker Paul N.J. Ottosson The Hurt Locker
2009 The Dark Knight Richard King The Dark Knight
2008 The Bourne Ultimatum Karen Baker Landers and Per Hallberg The Bourne Ultimatum
2007 Letters From Iwo Jima Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman Letters From Iwo Jima
2006 King Kong Mike Hopkins and Ethan Van der Ryn King Kong
2005 The Incredibles Michael Silvers; Randy Thom The Incredibles
2004 Master And Commander Richard King Master And Commander
2003 The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers Ethan van der Ryn; Michael Hopkins The Lord Of The Rings: The Two Towers
2002 Pearl Harbor George Watters II; Christopher Boyes Pearl Harbor
2001 U-571 Jon Johnson U-571
2000 The Matrix Dane A Davis The Matrix
1999 Saving Private Ryan Gary Rydstrom; Richard Hymns Saving Private Ryan
1998 Titanic Tom Bellfort; Christopher Boyes Titanic
1997 The Ghost And The Darkness Bruce Stambler The Ghost And The Darkness
1996 Braveheart Lon Bender; Per Hallberg Braveheart
1995 Speed Stephen Hunter Flick Speed
1994 Jurassic Park Gary Rydstrom; Richard Hymns Jurassic Park
1993 Bram Stoker's Dracula Tom C McCarthy; David E Stone Bram Stoker's Dracula
1992 Terminator 2: Judgment Day Gary Rydstrom; Gloria S Borders Terminator 2: Judgment Day
1991 The Hunt For Red October Cecilia Hall; George Watters II The Hunt For Red October
1990 Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade Ben Burtt and Richard Hymns Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade
1989 Who Framed Roger Rabbit Charles L. Campbell, Louis L. Edemann Who Framed Roger Rabbit
1988 Robocop Stephen Flick; John Pospisil Robocop
1987 Aliens Don Sharpe Aliens
1986 Back To The Future Charles L. Campbell, Robert Rutledge Back To The Future
1985 The River Kay Rose The River
1984 The Right Stuff Jay Boekelheide The Right Stuff
1983 E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial Charles L Campbell; Ben Burtt E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial
1982 Raiders Of The Lost Ark Ben Burtt & Richard L Anderson Raiders Of The Lost Ark
1980 The Black Stallion Alan Splet The Black Stallion
1978 Close Encounters Of The Third Kind Frank E Warner Close Encounters of the Third Kind
1976 The Hindenburg Peter Berkos The Hindenburg
1968 The Dirty Dozen John Poyner The Dirty Dozen
1967 Grand Prix Gordon Daniel
1966 The Great Race Tregoweth Brown
1965 Goldfinger Norman Wanstall
1964 It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World Walter G Elliott