Who Were the NBA Top Draft Picks?

NBA Top Draft Picks

The NBA draft is held annually after the completion of the playoffs.

There are currently two rounds. The draft order is determined both by a lottery system (including teams which did not make the NBA playoffs) and regular season won/loss record.

Players currently must be at least 19 years old and one year removed from high school. Players 22 and older are automatically eligible, but players younger than 22 must declare their eligibility.

Year Winner For
2017 Markelle Fultz (Washington) Philadelphia 76ers Details >>
2016 Ben Simmons (LSU) Philadelphia 76ers Details >>
2015 Karl-Anthony Towns (Kentucky) Minnesota Timberwolves Details >>
2014 Andrew Wiggins (Kansas) Cleveland Cavaliers Details >>
2013 Anthony Bennett (UNLV) Cleveland Cavaliers Details >>
2012 Anthony Davis (Kentucky) New Orleans Hornets Details >>
2011 Kyrie Irving (Duke) Cleveland Cavaliers Details >>
2010 John Wall (Kentucky) Washington Wizards Details >>
2009 Blake Griffin (Oklahoma) Los Angeles Clippers Details >>
2008 Derrick Rose (Memphis) Chicago Bulls Details >>
2007 Greg Oden (Ohio State) Portland Trail Blazers Details >>
2006 Andrea Bargnani (Italy) Toronto Raptors Details >>
2005 Andrew Bogut (Utah) Milwaukee Bucks Details >>
2004 Dwight Howard (SW Atlanta Christian Academy) Orlando Magic Details >>
2003 LeBron James (St Vincent-St Mary HS) Cleveland Cavaliers Details >>
2002 Yao Ming (China) Houston Rockets Details >>
2001 Kwame Brown (Glynn Academy) Washington Wizards Details >>
2000 Kenyon Martin (Cincinnati) New Jersey Nets Details >>
1999 Elton Brand (Duke) Chicago Bulls Details >>
1998 Michael Olowokandi (Pacific) Los Angeles Clippers Details >>
1997 Tim Duncan (Wake Forest) San Antonio Spurs Details >>
1996 Allen Iverson (Georgetown) Philadelphia 76ers Details >>
1995 Joe Smith (Maryland) Golden State Warriors Details >>
1994 Glenn Robinson (Purdue) Milwaukee Bucks Details >>
1993 Chris Webber (Michigan) Orlando Magic Details >>
1992 Shaquille O'Neal (LSU) Orlando Magic Details >>
1991 Larry Johnson (UNLV) Charlotte Hornets Details >>
1990 Derrick Coleman (Syracuse) New Jersey Nets Details >>
1989 Pervis Ellison (Louisville) Sacramento Kings Details >>
1988 Danny Manning (Kansas) Los Angeles Clippers Details >>
1987 David Robinson (Navy) San Antonio Spurs Details >>
1986 Brad Daugherty (North Carolina) Cleveland Cavaliers Details >>
1985 Patrick Ewing (Georgetown) New York Knicks Details >>
1984 Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston) Houston Rockets Details >>
1983 Ralph Sampson (Virginia) Houston Rockets Details >>
1982 James Worthy (North Carolina) Los Angeles Lakers Details >>
1981 Mark Aguirre (DePaul) Dallas Mavericks Details >>
1980 Joe Barry Carroll (Purdue) Golden State Warriors Details >>
1979 Magic Johnson (Michigan St) Los Angeles Lakers Details >>
1978 Mychal Thompson (Minnesota) Portland Trail Blazers Details >>
1977 Kent Benson (Indiana) Milwaukee Bucks Details >>
1976 John Lucas (Maryland) Houston Rockets Details >>
1975 David Thompson (NC State) Atlanta Hawks Details >>
1974 Bill Walton (UCLA) Portland Trail Blazers Details >>
1973 Doug Collins (Illinois State) Philadelphia 76ers Details >>
1972 LaRue Martin (Loyola Illinois) Portland Trail Blazers Details >>
1971 Austin Carr (Notre Dame) Cleveland Cavaliers Details >>
1970 Bob Lanier (St Bonaventure) Detroit Pistons Details >>
1969 Lew Alcindor (UCLA) Milwaukee Bucks Details >>
1968 Elvin Hayes (Houston) San Diego Rockets Details >>