Who Won the CMA New Artist of the Year Award?

CMA New Artist of the Year

From Terri Gibbs in 1981 to Brett Eldredge in 2014, the Country Music Association has voted on their New Artist of the Year. The award was known as the Horizon Award from 1981 to 2007.

Notable winners have included Randy Travis, Garth Brooks, Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood.

2014 Brett Eldredge  
Other Nominees: Brandy Clark; Cole Swindell; Kip Moore; Thomas Rhett
2013 Kacey Musgraves  
Other Nominees: Brett Eldredge; Florida Georgia Line; Kip Moore; Lee Brice
2012 Hunter Hayes  
Other Nominees: Lee Brice; Brantley Gilbert; Love And Theft; Thompson Square
2011 The Band Perry  
Other Nominees: Luke Bryan; Eric Church; Thompson Square; Chris Young
2010 Zac Brown Band  
Other Nominees: Luke Bryan; Easton Corbin; Jerrod Niemann; Chris Young
2009 Darius Rucker  
Other Nominees: Randy Houser; Jamey Johnson; Jake Owen; Zac Brown Band
2008 Lady Antebellum  
Other Nominees: Jason Aldean; Rodney Atkins; James Otto; Kellie Pickler
2007 Taylor Swift  
Other Nominees: Jason Aldean; Rodney Atkins; Little Big Town; Kellie Pickler
2006 Carrie Underwood  
Other Nominees: Miranda Lambert; Little Big Town; Sugarland; Josh Turner
2005 Dierks Bentley  
Other Nominees: Big & Rich; Miranda Lambert; Julie Roberts; Sugarland
2004 Gretchen Wilson  
Other Nominees: Dierks Bentley; Big & Rich; Julie Roberts; Josh Turner
2003 Joe Nichols  
Other Nominees: Gary Allan; Buddy Jewell; Blake Shelton; Darryl Worley
2002 Rascal Flatts  
Other Nominees: Carolyn Dawn Johnson; Nickel Creek; Phil Vassar; Darryl Worley
2001 Keith Urban  
Other Nominees: Jessica Andrews; Nickel Creek; Jamie O'Neal; Phil Vassar
2000 Brad Paisley  
Other Nominees: Sara Evans; Montgomery Gentry; SheDaisy; Chely Wright
1999 Jo Dee Messina  
Other Nominees: Kenny Chesney; Sara Evans; Wilkinsons; Chely Wright
1998 Dixie Chicks  
Other Nominees: Trace Adkins; Jo Dee Messina; Michael Peterson; Lee Ann Womack
1997 LeAnn Rimes  
Other Nominees: Trace Adkins; Deana Carter; Terri Clark; Lee Ann Womack
1996 Bryan White  
Other Nominees: Terri Clark; Wade Hayes; LeAnn Rimes; Shania Twain
1995 Alison Krauss  
Other Nominees: David Ball; John Berry; Faith Hill; Shania Twain
1994 John Michael Montgomery  
Other Nominees: Faith Hill; Martina McBride; Tim McGraw; Lee Roy Parnell
1993 Mark Chesnutt  
Other Nominees: Sammy Kershaw; Tracy Lawrence; John Michael Montgomery; Trisha Yearwood
1992 Suzy Bogguss  
Other Nominees: Brooks & Dunn; Billy Dean; Pam Tillis; Trisha Yearwood
1991 Travis Tritt  
Other Nominees: Mary Chapin Carpenter; Mark Chesnutt; Doug Stone; Pam Tillis
1990 Garth Brooks  
Other Nominees: Alan Jackson; Kentucky Headhunters; Lorrie Morgan; Travis Tritt
1989 Clint Black  
Other Nominees: Desert Rose Band; Patty Loveless; Shenandoah; Keith Whitley
1988 Ricky Van Shelton  
Other Nominees: Highway 101; Patty Loveless; KT Oslin; Sweethearts Of The Rodeo
1987 Holly Dunn  
Other Nominees: T Graham Brown; O'Kanes; Restless Heart; Sweethearts Of The Rodeo
1986 Randy Travis  
Other Nominees: Forester Sisters; Kathy Mattea; Dan Seals; Dwight Yoakam
1985 Sawyer Brown  
Other Nominees: Ray Charles; Mel McDaniel; Eddy Raven; John Schneider
1984 The Judds  
Other Nominees: Deborah Allen; Earl Thomas Conley; Vern Gosdin; Michael Martin Murphy
1983 John Anderson  
Other Nominees: Vern Gosdin; Reba McEntire; George Strait; The Whites
1982 Ricky Skaggs  
Other Nominees: John Anderson; Rosanne Cash; David Frizzell; Lee Greenwood
1981 Terri Gibbs  
Other Nominees: Rosanne Cash; David Frizzell; TG Sheppard; Shelly West; Boxcar Willie