Who Won the College Football National Championship?

The College Football National Championship Game determines the national champion of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision. Currently the top four ranked teams play in two semi-final games with the winners advancing to this game.

Prior to the 2014 season participants were the two highest-ranked teams in the BCS standings at the end of the regular season. From 1998 through 2005 the game was rotated between the Fiesta Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Orange Bowl and Rose Bowl. After that it became a separate bowl game unto itself.

Year Winner Runner Up
2017 Alabama Crimson Tide Georgia Bulldogs 26-23 (OT) Details >>
2016 Clemson Tigers Alabama Crimson Tide 35-31 Details >>
2015 Alabama Crimson Tide Clemson Tigers 45-40 Details >>
2014 Ohio State Buckeyes Oregon Ducks 42-20 Details >>
2013 Florida State Seminoles Auburn Tigers 34-31 Details >>
2012 Alabama Crimson Tide Notre Dame Fighting Irish 42-14 Details >>
2011 Alabama Crimson Tide LSU Tigers 21-0 Details >>
2010 Auburn Tigers Oregon Ducks 22-19 Details >>
2009 Alabama Crimson Tide Texas Longhorns 37-21 Details >>
2008 Florida Gators Oklahoma Sooners 24-14 Details >>
2007 LSU Tigers Ohio State Buckeyes 38-24 Details >>
2006 Florida Gators Ohio State Buckeyes 41-14 Details >>