Who Won the NHL Norris Trophy?

NHL Norris Trophy

The James Norris Memorial Trophy is awarded yearly by the NHL to the league's top defenseman.

The Norris Trophy is named for former Red Wings owner James E Norris and was first awarded in 1954. Bobby Orr has won the most Norris Trophies, having won eight years in a row from 1968-1975.

The voting for the Norris Trophy is by members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

YearNorris Trophy WinnerTeam
2017Brent BurnsSan Jose Sharks
2016Drew DoughtyLos Angeles Kings
2015Erik KarlssonOttawa Senators
2014Duncan KeithChicago Blackhawks
2013P.K. SubbanMontreal Canadiens
2012Erik KarlssonOttawa Senators
2011Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2010Duncan KeithChicago Blackhawks
2009Zdeno CharaBoston Bruins
2008Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2007Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2006Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2004Scott NiedermayerNew Jersey Devils
2003Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2002Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2001Nicklas LidstromDetroit Red Wings
2000Chris ProngerSt Louis Blues
1999Al MacInnisSt Louis Blues
1998Rob BlakeLos Angeles Kings
1997Brian LeetchNew York Rangers
1996Chris CheliosChicago Blackhawks
1995Paul CoffeyDetroit Red Wings
1994Ray BourqueBoston Bruins
1993Chris CheliosChicago Blackhawks
1992Brian LeetchNew York Rangers
1991Ray BourqueBoston Bruins
1990Ray BourqueBoston Bruins
1989Chris CheliosMontreal Canadiens
1988Ray BourqueBoston Bruins
1987Ray BourqueBoston Bruins
1986Paul CoffeyEdmonton Oilers
1985Paul CoffeyEdmonton Oilers
1984Rod LangwayWashington Capitals
1983Rod LangwayWashington Capitals
1982Doug WilsonChicago Blackhawks
1981Randy CarlylePittsburgh Penguins
1980Larry RobinsonMontreal Canadiens
1979Denis PotvinNew York Islanders
1978Denis PotvinNew York Islanders
1977Larry RobinsonMontreal Canadiens
1976Denis PotvinNew York Islanders
1975Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1974Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1973Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1972Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1971Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1970Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1969Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1968Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1967Harry HowellNew York Rangers
1966Jacques LaperriereMontreal Canadiens
1965Pierre PiloteChicago Blackhawks
1964Pierre PiloteChicago Blackhawks
1963Pierre PiloteChicago Blackhawks
1962Doug HarveyNew York Rangers
1961Doug HarveyMontreal Canadiens
1960Doug HarveyMontreal Canadiens
1959Tom JohnsonMontreal Canadiens
1958Doug HarveyMontreal Canadiens
1957Doug HarveyMontreal Canadiens
1956Doug HarveyMontreal Canadiens
1955Doug HarveyMontreal Canadiens
1954Red KellyDetroit Red Wings